About

PTSO Meetings

The PTSO Leadership Team invites you to join us for our bi-monthly meetings. All teachers, staff and officials of Tappan Middle School, all students attending the school, and their parents or guardians, shall be members of the organization and entitled to vote when present. Please contact the PTSO president if you wish to be included on the agenda. Watch the Thursday Thing for details about PTSO activities.

2018-2019 Meeting Schedule 
Meetings begin at 6:00 p.m. in the Tappan Media Center.  Please use the west entrance to enter the building. The Media Center is located on the second floor just past the staircase.

Our meeting schedule for the upcoming school year is:
    September 17th, 2018
    October 8, 2018
    November 12, 2018
    December 10, 2018
    January 14, 2019
    February 11, 2019
    March 11, 2019
    April 8, 2019
    May 13, 2019
    June 10, 2019

Join the Leadership Team  

Whether it's your family's first year at Tappan or your last, please consider joining the PTSO Leadership Team. Most positions can be held by more than one person, so find a friend and volunteer! Please see the Resources page for position descriptions.

2018-2019 Tappan PTSO Leadership Team    

Executive Board
Co-Presidents Ruth Hamstra
John Pottow    
Ruth.e.hamstra@gmail.com
Jaepottow@hotmail.com
Vice President Jenn Monk-Reising  jmonkreising@gmail.com 
Secretary Stephanie Casey
sacasey1231@gmail.com
Co-Treasurers Dan Hamalainen
Tonja Fox
dhamalainen@gmail.com
texastonja@yahoo.com
Officers at LargeColleen Kollman
Shawna Farmer
Vera Lewis
colleendowdkollman@gmail.com
farmerjordan@me.com
vsmith8038@gmail.com
PTSO Representatives
Principal Roberta Heyward heywardr@aaps.k12.mi.us 
Assistant Principal Chris Roberts robertsc@aaps.k12.mi.us
Teacher Representative Audrey Arnold arnolda@aaps.k12.mi.us
PTSO Thrift Shop Representative Lynne Pauer Lynne.Pauer@pfizer.com 
PTSO Committee Chairs
8th Grade Party Elizabeth Sarkar
ejsarkar@yahoo.com 
Field Trip Fund Treasurer Michele Hustonmichele@thehustons.net
Fundraising Chair                           Jenn Monk-Reising jmonkreising@gmail.com
Student Directory 2017-2018    Dave Rosenfeld davidmrosenfeld@gmail.com 
Maxi/Mini Grants CoordinatorTonja Foxtexastonja@yahoo.com 
 Athletic Director Liaison     Kristen and Brad Johnson kjohns64@yahoo.com 
School Store Kelly Ceccacci kellyceccacci@yahoo.com
Patty Kracht krachtfamily@gmail.com
Scrip Coordinator    Courtney McCreadie cemccreadie@yahoo.com
Spirit Wear Kristen Johnson  kjohns64@yahoo.com  
Staff Appreciation Julie Soldan
Jill Baumhover
juliesoldan@comcast.net 
Jillgoolsby@yahoo.com
Tappan Garden Cara Lauzzana caralauzzana@hotmail.com
Thursday Thing Kellie Carbone
tappanpto@gmail.com
Volunteer Coordinator Jenn Monk-Reising jmonkreising@gmail.com 
Website Tracy Dunbar barknwhinny@comcast.net 




By-Laws

See the Bylaws Revision page for information about the proposed changes to the PTSO Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws.

Tappan Middle School By-Laws
  • In promoting the intellectual, physical and emotional health of Tappan students in the school and community at large.
  • In serving as a liaison between Tappan students, parents, faculty, staff, AAPS School Administration and the Board of Education.
  • In engaging in appropriate action on school issues in the community at large.
  • In providing forums and opportunities for communication among parents, teachers, school building administration, AAPS School Administration and the community at large.
  • In engaging in fundraising activities to generate funds for student and community requests.
  • In promoting citizen involvement in school affairs.