About

PTSO Meetings

The PTSO Leadership Team invites you to join us for our bi-monthly meetings. All teachers, staff and officials of Tappan Middle School, all students attending the school, and their parents or guardians, shall be members of the organization and entitled to vote when present. Please contact the PTSO president if you wish to be included on the agenda. Watch the Thursday Thing for details about PTSO activities.

2019-2020 Meeting Schedule
Meetings are the 2nd Monday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Tappan Media Center.  Please use the west entrance to enter the building. The Media Center is located on the second floor just past the staircase.

Join the Leadership Team  

Whether it's your family's first year at Tappan or your last, please consider joining the PTSO Leadership Team. Most positions can be held by more than one person, so find a friend and volunteer! Please see the Resources page for position descriptions.

2019-2020 Tappan PTSO Leadership Team    

Executive Board
Co-Presidents Ruth Hamstra
John Pottow    
Ruth.e.hamstra@gmail.com
Jaepottow@hotmail.com
Vice President Laurel Schroeder  laurelschroeder@gmail.com
Secretary Colleen Kollman colleendowdkollman@gmail.com
Co-Treasurers Dan Hamalainen
Tonja Fox
dhamalainen@gmail.com
texastonja@yahoo.com
Officers at Large Shawna Jordan 
Damaris Kasotakis
Deborah Paul-McDonald
Laura Whitridge
shawna@homeleisure.com
dkasotakis@hotmail.com
dapm@mac.com
lwhitridge@gmail.com
PTSO Committee Chairs
Acknowledgements Vera Lewis vsmith8038@gmail.com
Appreciation Shawna Jordan shawna@homeleisure.com
Communications Kellie Carbone kelliecarbone@gmail.com
Fundraising Laurel Schroeder laurelschroeder@gmail.com
Fun Run Jessie jcfeven2gmail.com
Garden Cara Lauzzana
Graduation Deborah Paul-McDonald dapm@mac.com
Hospitality Julie Soldan juliesoldan@gmail.com
PTOC Rep Elizabeth Herness Peters ehpeters@gmail.com
School Store Kelly Ceccacci
Ayumi Miller
kellyceccacci@yahoo.com
ayumi.miller36@gmail.com
Spirit Wear Lauren Sherick Linkner laurenlinkner@gmail.com
Tappan Players Ruth Hamstra
Laura Whitridge
ruth.e.hamstra@gmail.com
lwhitridge@gmail.com
Volunteers John Hunter j.d.h@mac.com
Webmaster Dan Hamalainen (Interim) dhamalainen@gmail.com
Administration
Principal Roberta Heyward heywardr@aaps.k12.mi.us 
Assistant Principal Chris Roberts robertsc@aaps.k12.mi.us
Teacher Representative Aubrey Arnold arnolda@aaps.k12.mi.us




By-Laws

Tappan Middle School By-Laws
  • In promoting the intellectual, physical and emotional health of Tappan students in the school and community at large.
  • In serving as a liaison between Tappan students, parents, faculty, staff, AAPS School Administration and the Board of Education.
  • In engaging in appropriate action on school issues in the community at large.
  • In providing forums and opportunities for communication among parents, teachers, school building administration, AAPS School Administration and the community at large.
  • In engaging in fundraising activities to generate funds for student and community requests.
  • In promoting citizen involvement in school affairs.